Tag Archives: Relapse Records


Doom legends THE OBSESSED will release a new album next April, via Relapse Records. This will be the band’s first studio album in over 20 years.

Guitarist Scott “Wino” Wenrich commented:

“I can honestly say,  I think this is the best sounding recording of my career, and I am excited to release it on Relapse. This song “Razor Wire”, I have been carrying around the title concept and main riff in my pocket for a couple years. The full song was born after applying real life experiences, with a little wishful thinking!”

IRON MONKEY with a new album on Relapse Records

Relapse Records announced the signing of cult UK Doom/Sludge band IRON MONKEY!

IRON MONKEY originally formed in Nottingham (England) in 1994 and released two full-lengths (1997’s self-titled debut and 1998’s “Our Problem”), a live album and a split with Church of Misery before splitting in 1999.

Now, almost two decades later, the band has decided to reform as a trio with co-founding members S. Watson on bass and J. Rushby on guitar/vocals. They’re rounded out by new member S. Briggs (Chaos U.K.,) who also played with original IRON MONKEY vocalist J.P. Morrow in the short-lived sludge supergroup My War.

The band has entered Moot Group studios, in Nottingham, to record a new album with Johnny A. Carter (ex-Pitchshifter). The album will consist of eight tracks plus a cover song and a late summer/early fall release is expected via Relapse Records.

The band shared a few words on the reformation and new material:

We’re older, more cynical, more isolationist. Musically, we’re more aggressive, more focused – a direct assault. We intend to take what is rightfully ours, usurp the scene and then crush its skull.

OBITUARY are back with a new album

After releasing “Inked In Blood” back in 2014, Florida death metal legends OBITUARY return with their new, self-titled, 10th studio album!

Recorded at their home studio in Tampa, “Obituary” features death metal 10 tracks showcasing an historic 30-year career.

The album will be out next March 17th, on CD/LP and Digital formats. All pre-orders are available at the Relapse Records website.

Here’s the first advanced track, ‘Setence Day’:

RED FANG – Shadows

RED FANG released a new video for the song ‘Shadows’, taken from their new album “Only Ghosts”, set for release this October 14 via Relapse Records.

This is the sixth video to pair RED FANG and director Whitey McConnaughy, with the first partnership going back as 2010’s ‘Prehistoric Dog’ (watch it here), which saw the Portland-based band challenge a local role playing troupe only to suffer the consequences at their hands.

The most recent video from the band & McConnaughy is the 2013 clip featuring Fred Armisen and a horde of beer-thirsty zombies in ‘Blood Like Cream’ (watch it here).

You can watch the video for ‘Shadows’ streaming below:

NOTHING – Curse Of The Sun

NOTHING have shared a new music video for the track ‘Curse Of The Sun’, taken from their latest album, “Tired Of Tomorrow”, out now on Relapse Records.

The video was directed by Jimmy Hubbard (Baroness, Carcass etc) and shot at shows through New York City, Philadelphia and Washington on NOTHING’s North American headlining ‘Tired Of Tourism’ tour last May.

(reminder: NOTHING will play 2 shows in Portugal next October 7th, in Lisbon @ Musicbox and October 8th, in Porto @ Cave 45)

TRUE WIDOW – Theurgist

TRUE WIDOW who will release their fourth album, “Avvolgere”, next September 23rd, via Relapse Records, recently shared a video for the new song ‘Theurgist’.

Singer and guitarist D.H. Phillips commented on the new video:

We invited out friend Mats Ek over from Sweden to make a couple of videos for the new record. We wanted this one to be pretty simple. Just us playing the song with no story line. As for making it something worth watching we wanted it to be psychedelic but in an organic way. We attached several prisms to the lens of the camera and put the camera on a spinning sculpture base. Mats took it home and lost his mind editing the footage with the instruction to make it as crazy as possible. He did good.

Check out the result below:

INTEGRITY sign to Relapse Records

Relapse Records announced the signing of hardcore legends INTEGRITY.

Originally formed in 1988, INTEGRITY has released 11 full-length albums and a litany of splits / EPs including a recent split with Power Trip.

The band is set to record their new full-length album later this year which will be released by Relapse in 2017.

Frontman Dwid Hellion commented on the new material and signing:

It is a great honor to be a part of the Relapse family. I have been a longtime admirer of the label and excited to have our new album released under the Relapse banner. Integrity has always been a creature of destruction and introspection. The ever beginning End. A lesson in lechery and weaponized love. Forever culling forth the demons of deep within to enchant our congregation with serrated scripture. We have been writing the new Integrity album throughout the past year. Whittling away at forbidden deities and forgotten curses until we arrive with chapter and verse.