[review] BODY HAMMER – II The Mechanism of Night (2014)

BODY HAMMER - II The Mechanism of Night [2014]

BODY HAMMER
II The Mechanism of Night
(The Path Less Traveled Records – 2013)
www.facebook.com/TPLTR

I really don’t know where to start with this one. I’m still listening to it and I keep trying to convince myself there is something hidden around here, behind the noise and feedback. Something other than noise. I don’t want to call it that, plain and simple, because I’m sure there must be logic to this madness, a pattern I can follow and adapt, trying to get comfortable with what I’m hearing. I’m not really a big fan of Noise, the genre, the same way I try to keep a distance from those pure jazz artists who claim ‘it’s not about the notes you ear, it’s about the ones you don’t’! Yeah, right…

The press-release I got with this album vaguely suggests that if I’m a fan of Agoraphobic Nosebleed or Swans I’m going to like the kind of thing BODY HAMMER has to offer me. The thing is, I actually like Agoraphobic Nosebleed and there are some particular days where I can see myself embracing Swans music, but I’m having a difficult time getting my brain around “II The Mechanism of Night”! Maybe it’s me. I’m the one to blame for not getting this. I can understand some of these grindcore/noise bursts like ‘Body Blockade’, ‘Dog Star Man’ or ‘Tending the Trajectories’, but if you come to think of it, short as they are, they almost sound like the same song with different feedback around them! And the longer tracks seem to be noise/equipment experiments! I’m honestly out of my league here, but if you’re into these extreme/noise kinds of projects, maybe there’s something here for you. The artwork is awesome though.

[reviewed by: Rui Marujo]

Leave a Reply

